h1

#Trying to Find What I Enjoy Doing…#Discontent

08/05/2011

By:

Angel Elexa

In an article by Ruchira Agrawal, 6 Ways To Discover Your Authentic Work, she writes about finding your passion and making it work for you.  Ruchira says, “Some of you may be familiar with the term ‘authentic work’, others perhaps reading this for the first time and wondering what it really means. The term ‘authenticity’ according to Wikipedia means – “the degree to which one is true to one’s own personality, spirit, or character”, despite “external forces, pressures, and influences”. And when you apply it to your work, it obviously means engaging in work that is closest to who you are as a person and what you’re naturally gifted and talented in.”

Well, I hadn’t been so blessed to find exactly what that means for me yet. I’m just trying to work and pay the bills now because I’m discontent.  I thought that getting my degree in something that I thought I loved would mean starting at a certain salary level and would allow me to be Young with Money.  I’m not talking about Weezy, Drake and Nikki Minaj money, but still having enough to venture out on my own the first year after school, buy a house, travel and splurge and save all at the same time. You know, do the things that I wanted to in life without always checking the budget first.

 I thought if I did well enough in school, applied myself in my internships, companies would be eager to recruit me at their career fairs.  Interestingly enough, I even thought going back for my MBA would help me achieve status in the corporate arena.  And even at 30 and almost 8 years in the industry, I’m just now making what I should’ve been 8 years ago. Oh, how the Visions of Grandeur have mocked me. 

We’ve all suffered layoffs, manager cruelty and other promotional injustices during our careers and have learned that the job search sucks.  It’s such a numbers game and I can’t seem to figure it out.  So with that being said, what is an authentic job for any of us?  Where we thought selecting a major in college would catapult us to our dream job, many of us have learned that it’s just the opposite.  And it just leaves you wanting more out of life.  The question becomes, how can you link up what you like to do with earning money to support you?  Maybe we should not search for success with a corporation to support someone else’s dream, BUT  venture out on our own and create the opportunities for ourselves. 

They say when the time is right, THINGS just seem to start happening.  Chances are, you were already thinking about pursuing dream.  I hadn’t really gotten the chance to be fully creative and at my job.  The discontentment actually led me to be an entrepreneur, and I have to admit, starting my own business has been gratifying.  It takes my mind off the day-to-day stuff at my 9-5 .  It even makes me wonder about going back to school and meshing the two things I’m passionate about most, Marketing and Interior design.  So in the meantime, until I can make a firm decision, I’ve started dabbling in the homestaging, interior redesign and social media consulting business.  All things I love and I actually get to use my marketing degree to promote my baby.   

My message to you today is that life doesn’t always turn out the way we envision it, but it at least births out something that you never imagined that may be just as good, if not better! 

You may think you’re on the right path, but be flexible enough to venture off YOUR defined path and be led to the one FATE wants you on.  Trust me, HE will give you the most inner desires of your heart that you didn’t even think were possible.   I think Ruchira got it right, “It’s easy to find fulfillment when you pursue an authentic career“.

Read Ruchira’s Full Article HERE.

LIVE Life and Prosper!

Leave a Reply

