h1

Trying to See a Legend – #LaurynHill in #Houston

04/07/2011

OMG…Lauryn Hill, Ms. Fugeela herself, is on tour. Now you heard about the supposed debacle last time she was on tour. People are still saying she had a nervous breakdown and went crazy. Well, for how much her tickets are costing at the HOB in #Houston, I better not be disappointed. Come on Lauryn, We are rootin’ for ya, girl! We need you to show up and show out!

You remember her playing the snarky teenage singing sensation in Sister Act 2. And I know you remember her amazing album called the MisEducation of Lauryn Hill. That CD made me think love was possible on a higher level…Still hoping it’s true!…LOL So needless to say, I’ll be in the place in my city to see what she’s been up to and to reminisce on songs from back in the day that made me feel good.

“One of the benefits of playing venues smaller than the ones I’m used to allows me the opportunity to not only reconnect with my supporters but to expose them to a portion of the musical journey I’ve been on which the world for the most part has not had access to. I’ve never shied away from being musically adventurous, nor am I known for being a lightweight when it comes to lyrical content or musical exploration.
These more intimate playdates afford me the time to perform for listeners who haven’t heard from me over the past several years or have been misinformed by the inaccuracies in some media coverage, many of which I might add, I find very amusing. Getting back out there to perform is a lot like resuming a strenuous sport after having been away from it for a while, but eventually the muscle memory kicks in, and each day brings progressive strength. It’s an exciting and REAL process which these audiences will get to witness.” – Lauryn Hill, Flirty 36

So ladies, are you with me? Who’s going? What’s your fave Lauryn Hill song?  I’m feeling the one with D’Angelo “Nothing Even Matters”.

LIVE Life….And Get outta the House.

Aerika Eshelle

If you are in the H-Town, check Lauryn out at House of Blues. If not, check her out in your city…See her tour schedule below:

Wednesday 05/04/2011

*Moving Target Tour*

House of Blues Houston
1204 Caroline Street
Houston, TX 77002
(888) 402-5837

Doors: 08:00 PM
Show: 09:00 PM
Prices:
$55.00 – General Admission- Standing Room
$60.00 – General Admission-Day of Show
$65.00 – Upper Balcony Seating
$79.50 – Lower Balcony Seating
Ages: all

» April 9 – Portland, Arlene Schnitzer Hall
» April 12 – San Francisco, The Warfield
» April 15 – Indio, Coachella Music and Arts Festival
» April 18 – Los Angeles, Club Nokia
» April 20 – Hollywood, El Rey Theatre
» April 27 – Dallas, House of Blues
» April 29 – San Antonio, Josabi’s
» May 1 – Austin, Stubb’s
» May 4 – Houston, House of Blues
» May 7 – New Orleans, Jazz and Heritage Festival
» May 10 – San Diego, Humphreys

Leave a Reply

