h1

Trying to Understand Haters…

02/17/2011

Since the Grammy’s the whole country is still abuzz with well wishers, as well as haters, of Esperanza Spalding.  I didn’t know who she was either, but Angel and Aerika sing her praises.  I saw this link on BonBonvie and it got me thinking. I totally agree with Shari.  Esperanza apparently is not mainstream like the Beib, but has a huge following underground. If you know her music, you love it!  Okay, I get that.  I’m proud of her because she reps what this site is about most, Trying to find your calling in this world and making things happen in your Twenties.  Not mad at that all. 

“I certainly did not expect to even be considered for that type of nomination,” she said. “Me being a little old jazz musician and everything.”



So if everyone else gets to be angry, let me be un-lady like for two seconds and express my anger. What I am hot as hell about is how the haters have been raggin’ on this chick for almost a week now.  Really, ladies?!  Many snide and just plain horrible comments have been made about this young lady’s success in cyberspace that are just rude.  An angry fan of ours even commented that “she must’ve paid someone off to win” and “that she hasn’t made a a name for herself.”  Whether it’s true or not, the comment was deemed unsupportive and, though her opinion, it was deleted.  

Why are are we mad at Esperanza?  She did her thang, she has an awesome voice and is highly multi-talented.  Did you know she’s even been on the scene since 2005?!  That’s 6 years, people!  “She released her first solo CD in 2006 to critical acclaim.  Her 2008 follow-up Esperanza takes a fresh approach to jazz by incorporating the rich traditions of soul, pop, world music and so much more.” “She is an irresistible performer,” says The Seattle Times. “She sings and plays bass at the same time and does a sort of interpretive dance as she plays … Her analysis of what’s going on in jazz today is perceptive.”  Don’t get me wrong, I reps the Beib with his cute self and I fully support Usher’s guidance of little dude’s talent.  I’m even going to see Never Say Never next week.  But if you’re going to direct your anger at anyone, do it to the Awards committee or just do it amongst your group of friends. 

This level of hatred is reminiscent of when Barak got elected as President.  Twitter lines and Facebook posts were going off because an equally deserving young woman won an award and shocked the nation.  Did she not struggle, did she not care about her art, did she not learn to play multiple instruments, did she not establish a huge following underground?  No one has taken the time to explore these questions and now I’m pissed off. 

Note where fans hacked Esperanza’s Wickipedia page and wrote on her profile.  Seriously, Ladies!  Do NOT show hatred in this manner.  Be above the Bull-ish…You are entitled to you opinions, but lets remember the age old addige of what yo momma said, “If you can’t say nothing nice, then don’t say anything as all.”   Even Justin Beiber handled the situation with grace and poise by saying “I’m happy for her and hopefully she has a good year.”   Thank you Justin, for being a man about your ish.  That’s why I love you even more.  You have character and though this was a painful situation for you, I know, because of your humility, you will be awarded exponentially in the upcoming years.

We are ladies in our TryingTwenties and FlirtyThirties.  This community  seeks to support all those that are talented, successful and have the potential to be; whether famous or not, whether it’s you, your friends, or your sisters.  Let’s take this opportunity to Try something new and give Esperanza’s music a chance.  Look for one of her performances that runs on PBS or learn more at Austin City Limits/episode 3513.  She does a beautiful job and you can’t deny talent.  If you do, then you’re a hater and I don’t care how you feel about me. …..And look at me being a hater on the haters.  I need to check myself, too….LOL 

I’m so heated over this matter that I’m going to shove it down your throats.  If you read this blog and select “Like” on the Facebook page, you will be entered to win Esperanza Spalding’s latest CD.  I’ll pick a winner 24 hours later.

The point is and the point ALWAYS is with us….Learn, Grow, Step outside the box and Be open to TRY new things.  Esperanza says “I want to make great music, but I also want to use that talent to lift people up, and maybe show them some degree of hope where there might not be any in their lives. My name means ‘hope’ in Spanish, and it’s a name I want to live up to.”  And this is why I now rep Esperanza, too!

So I’m sure I’m gonna catch hell on this one, but don’t be mad when I get right back with ya.  I’m not as nice as as Angel.

LIVE Life and LOVE those that love you back.

Keysharion “KeKe” Parker

2 comments

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by HighHeelJunkie, Trying Twenties. Trying Twenties said: Trying to Understand Haters… http://goo.gl/fb/wBRA3 […]


  2. Well said! The thing that’s so crazy is that people act like just because Esperanza won, she’s gonna take something away from the Beiber. NOT! There’s enough room in the industry for everyone. So the haters need to just get over it!



Leave a Reply

